Fig Tree Bush Camp
Treehouse-style tented camp · Central-west, on the Shishamba lagoon · Mukambi Safaris
Mukambi's bush camp on a lagoon deeper into the park, established 2015. Four raised tents watch a waterhole that does the game-viewing for you between drives, and the star bed is the way to spend at least one of your nights.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Every tent raised three metres on its own platform
- Infinity pool overlooking the waterhole
- A star bed for a night under an unobstructed sky
- Full board with a three-choice menu for any diet
- Just four tents, so every view stays private
Cons
- No minimum age found for children
- Wi-Fi only in common areas and dining decks
- Open 1 May to 30 November only
- Walking safaris and game drives are priced separately
What's here
- Swimming pool
- Wi-Fi
- En-suite bathrooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Guided walks
Read from Fig Tree Bush Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Kafue National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryThere is no self-drive surcharge here.
- $20per person, per day
- VehicleForeign-registered vehicle under 3 tonnes.
- $15per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $165 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
The full fee schedule for Kafue National ParkRates at Fig Tree Bush Camp
From $525 pppn. 2026 fully inclusive: $525 low season, $650 peak.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Indicative 2026 rates from operators' own rate cards and published tariffs, gathered July 2026. Many Kafue camps quote on enquiry only. Watch two things when comparing: whether park fees are included (Mayukuyuku and Konkamoya include them, most others do not), and conservation levies of $30 to $40 a night at some camps. A caution on older guides: Lufupa River Camp, Lufupa Tented Camp, Leopard Lodge and Puku Pan all appear closed or dormant, Mukambi Plains Camp is simply the old name of Busanga Plains Camp, and the Jeffery & McKeith brand merged into Classic Zambia Safaris. We list none of them as live options.
Questions about Fig Tree Bush Camp
Is Fig Tree Bush Camp good for families?
We found no published minimum age for children or family tent description for Fig Tree, unlike its sister lodge Mukambi Safari Lodge. With only four raised tents on a lagoon, ask Mukambi directly what age it accepts before booking for younger children.
Does Fig Tree Bush Camp have a star bed?
Yes. The camp's own page describes trading your tent for a night under an unobstructed view of the stars, the same feature offered at sister camp Busanga Plains Camp. It pairs with an infinity pool that looks over the waterhole where much of the game-viewing happens between drives.
What does the rate at Fig Tree Bush Camp include?
Mukambi's own page confirms full board with a three-choice set menu for any dietary requirement, and Wi-Fi in the common areas and dining decks rather than in the tents. Walking safaris and game drives are listed as activities but not stated as included, so confirm this when you book.
When is Fig Tree Bush Camp open?
Fig Tree runs from 1 May to 30 November each year, according to our record. Outside that window the lagoon it sits on and the wider central-west sector become harder to reach, in line with the dry-season pattern most inland Kafue camps follow.
Can you self-drive to Fig Tree Bush Camp?
Mukambi's own page does not state a self-drive route for Fig Tree; our record lists an airstrip at Chunga, reached by arrangement. Given the camp sits deeper in the park than its road-accessible sister lodge, confirm current access with Mukambi Safaris before planning to drive in.